The Centre for Speech Technology Research, The university of Edinburgh

CSTR Staff and Students


Name Position Email Office
Simon King Director of CSTR, Professor of Speech Processing IF 3.11
Steve Renals Professor of Speech Technology IF 3.15
Korin Richmond Reader IF 3.03
Peter Bell Reader IF 3.24A
Hiroshi Shimodaira Lecturer IF 3.04
Catherine Lai Lecturer IF 3.26
Junichi Yamagishi Senior Research Fellow IF 3.06
Cassia Valentini-Botinhao Senior Researcher IF 3.26
Oliver Watts Senior Researcher IF 3.46
Aciel Eshky Research Associate IF 3.46
Jonathan Kilgour Research Associate IF 3.24
Erfan Loweimi Research Associate IF 3.26
Sam Ribeiro Research Associate IF 3.51
Mark Sinclair Research Associate
Francesca Della Moretta Research Assistant IF 3.37
Tom Iddon Research Assistant IF 3.37

PhD students

Name Position Email Office
Andrea Carmantini PhD Student IF 3.26
Carol Chermaz Marie Curie Fellow IF 3.48
Jie Chi PhD Student BC 3.20
Joachim Fainberg PhD Student IF 3.34
Jason Fong PhD Student IF 3.50
Avashna Govender Marie Curie Fellow IF 3.05
Zack Hodari PhD Student IF 3.25
Ondrej Klejch PhD Student IF 3.05
Ben Krause PhD Student IF 3.05
Chau Luu PhD Student IF 2.39
Pilar Oplustil Gallegos PhD Student IF 3.50
Joanna Rownicka PhD Student IF 3.05
Jason Taylor PhD student IF 4.23
Emelie van de Vreken PhD Student BC 3.20
Jacob Webber PhD Student IF 3.25
Dan Wells PhD Student BC 3.20
Jennifer Williams PhD Student BC 3.05
Shucong Zhang PhD student IF 2.49

Associate members

Name Position Email Office
Alexandra Birch Research Associate IF 4.38
Jean Carletta Senior Research Associate IF 4.26
Sharon Goldwater Reader IF 3.17
Vasilis Karaiskos Research Associate IF 4.38
Johanna Moore Professor IF 3.14
Mark Steedman Professor of Cognitive Science IF 4.15
Mirjam Wester Senior Researcher IF 3.43
Maria Wolters Reader in Design Informatics IF 4.32

External members

Name Position Email Office
Matthew Aylett Honorary Fellow
Gregor Hofer CEO (Speech Graphics)
Gustav Eje Henter Post-doc, KTH Royal Institute of Technology
Steve Isard Honorary Fellow
Mike Lincoln CTO (Quorate Technology)
Jim Scobbie Honorary Fellow; Professor of Speech Science (Queen Margaret University)
Pawel Swietojanski University of New South Wales
Keiichi Tokuda Honorary Professor; Professor (Nagoya Institute of Technology)

Support staff

Name Position Email Office
Nicola Drago Ferrante Institute Administrator IF 3.37
Caroline Hastings Portfolio Manager IF 3.35
Seona Wharrie Institute Administrative Secretary IF 3.37