The Centre for Speech Technology Research, The university of Edinburgh

CSTR Weekly Meeting - Talk Schedule

Time and Place

CSTR meetings will generally held on Monday at 16:10 in IF-G.03 but may be prone to deviate this semester due to teaching and other clashes. Please check below for times and locations!


Meetings consist of a 30-45 minute talk followed by questions and discussion.


We've roughly scheduled CSTR members to give one research talks during the year. We expect these annual reports to be interspersed with practice talks, pre-viva talks, talks from visitors etc. Contact Catherine Lai to select specific dates or if you would like to enter the rota.

Do you have a great idea that you want to develop? You can always schedule a work-in-progress talk earlier than you appear on the list!

Talk schedule

Date Speaker
13 January 2020
Mon 4:10pm, IF-3.07
Joanna Rownicka
Embeddings for SAT-DNNs and OctConvs for speech representation learning (Third Year Review)
20 January 2020 Andrea Carmantini
Exploiting uncertainty for semi-supervised training of speech recognition models (First Year Review)
27 January 2020 Dimitri Palaz, Speech Graphics
Speech emotion recognition for audio-driven facial animation
03 February 2020 Jacob Webber
Hider/Finder/Combiner: A new approach to machine learning-based speech control
10 February 2020 No talk
17 February 2020 No talk
24 February 2020 Simon King (tbc) / UCU strike?
02 March 2020 UCU strike?
09 March 2020 UCU strike?
16 March 2020
23 March 2020 Jing-Xuan Zhang, University of Science and Technology of China
Sequence-to-sequence based voice conversion
30 March 2020
06 April 2020 Avashna Govender (3rd year review)
13 April 2020 Gustav Henter, KTH

Coming up next...

(with date of last talk)
Simon King (14.05.18)
Junichi Yamagishi (11.06.18)
Jason Fong
Ondrej Klejch (04.02.19)
Aciel Eskhy (25.02.19)
Korin Richmond (11.03.19)
Hiroshi Shimodaira (25.03.19)
Peter Bell (04.04.19)
Avashna Govender (20.05.19)
Catherine Lai (30.05.19)
Cassia Valentini (30.05.19)
Erfan Loweimi (03.06.19)
JinHong Lu (10.06.19)
Jennifer Williams (11.07.18)
Sam Ribeiro (29.07.19)
Chau Luu (22.08.19)
Carol Chermaz (26.08.19)
Ramon Sanabria
Jie Chi
Dan Wells
Emelie Van de Vreken
Steve Renals (23.10.17)
Oliver Watts (28.10.19)
Jason Taylor (04.11.19)
Zack Hodari (18.11.19)
Pilar Oplustil (21.11.19)
Joachim Fainberg (10.12.19)
Shucong Zhang (9.12.19)
Joanna Rownicka (13.01.20)
Andrea Carmantini (20.01.20)
Jacob Webber (03.02.20)